Communities of Support and Teacher PD

I just finished re-reading Jeff’s article “Meaningful Play–Making Professional Development Fun.  I was struck by the importance of/emphasis on creating communities of learning where teachers interact.  Through communities, one finds and explores new ideas.  A corollary to this is that one must be self-motivated.  As with the chronically disengaged student, there are chronically disengaged teachers.  I’ve seen them come to my professional development sessions only because they want the credit for doing the year’s required PD, not because they are interested in the subject or technique I’m presenting. I think teachers need to be motivated to teach or, like many students who have no interest in learning English*,  they will never be truly effective in the classroom.

*I teach adult ESL for the US Air Force. 80% of our students are from the Middle East.

Leave a Reply

